Welcome To The Prescott Journal!...Wisconsin's Oldest Independent Community Newspaper Since 1855!


Call (715) 941-4842 or email: ads@prescottjournal.net

Saturday, August 6, 2016

WIAA announces sportsmanship award winners from spring and summer state tourneys

STEVENS POINT – The Wisconsin Interscholastic Athletic Association (WIAA), in partnership with Rural Mutual Insurance Company, has selected the team Sportsmanship Award winners for the 2016 Spring and Summer Prep State Team Tournaments.

The winners of the prestigious award are Waupaca in spring baseball, Delavan-Darien in softball, Neenah in boys’ tennis, Monticello/Belleville/New Glarus in girls’ soccer and Menomonee Falls in summer baseball.

Waupaca is the recipient of the WIAA/Rural Mutual Insurance Sportsmanship Award for the first time in spring baseball following its second trip to the State Spring Baseball Tournament. The Comets captured the Division 2 championship by shutting out Milwaukee Lutheran 2-0 in the title game. They advanced to the championship game with a 6-3 win over West Salem in the semifinals. It’s the second time Waupaca has won the award. The Comets also received the recognition in football in 2012. Schools receiving honorable mention include Burlington, Eau Claire North, Kimberly, Markesan, Alma/Pepin, Prairie du Chien, Unity and West Salem.

Delavan-Darien demonstrated sportsmanship and perseverance with weather delays, and changes in the schedule and game locations during the State Softball Tournament. It’s the first time the school has been chosen as the recipient of the award. The Comets finished runner-up following a 2-1 loss to New Berlin West in the Division 2 State final. They advanced to the title game with a 1-0 victory over Maple Northwestern/South Shore in the semifinals. Honorable mention for the award was extended to Milwaukee Divine Savior Holy Angels, Grantsburg, Kenosha Tremper, New Berlin West, New London, Northwestern/South Shore, Oakfield, Pulaski and Union Grove.

It is first time Belleville/New Glarus/Monticello (Sugar River) has been named the recipient of the Sportsmanship Award. The Sugar River Raiders are bestowed the honor in girls soccer. They advanced to the title game in Division 3 with a 1-0 triumph over Seymour and finished runner-up with a 5-0 setback against Waukesha Catholic Memorial in the championship game. La Crosse Aquinas, Eau Claire Memorial, Lake Country Lutheran/Hartland University Lake School, Madison West, Green Bay Notre Dame, Pulaski and Seymour received honorable mention for the award.

Neenah earned the Sportsmanship Award at the State Boys Team Tennis Tournament on the heels of the girls’ tennis program earning the honor in the fall. It’s the third time the Rockets have earned the award in boy tennis and the ninth time the Rockets have received the award overall. They also were recognized in 2002 and 2006. In addition, they were the recipients of the Sportsmanship Award in girls tennis in 2000 and 2015; boys basketball in 1969, 1975 and 1988; and girls soccer in 2001. The Rockets finished as the State runner-up this year, falling to Milwaukee Marquette 6-1 in the final after downing Eau Claire Memorial 6-1 in the quarterfinals and Brookfield Central 6-1 in the semifinals. Madison Edgewood received honorable mention.

After receiving honorable mention last year, Menomonee Falls and the Indians’ faithful were this year’s recipient of the Sportsmanship Award at the State Summer Baseball Tournament. They won the State title with a 6-0 win over New Holstein in the semifinals and a 2-0 victory over Marquette in the final. It was the third time Menomonee Falls has been selected for the Sportsmanship Award. The Indians won the award in boys’ soccer in 2014 and girls soccer in 2015. Oak Creek received honorable mention.

The WIAA/Rural Mutual Insurance Sportsmanship Award is presented to one school and community in each of the State team tournaments. The award winners are determined by the conduct and sportsmanship displayed by athletes, coaches, cheer and support groups, mascots, bands and spectators. Additional consideration is given for the effort of school administrators and chaperones to insure support for their teams are positive and that the highest ideals of sportsmanship are upheld. Award winners receive a plaque and banner in recognition of the honor. Schools receiving honorable mention are acknowledged with a certificate of recognition. 

Rural Mutual Insurance has sponsored the Sportsmanship Award program for more than 50 years. The selection process includes evaluations from contest officials, tournament management, as well as, security personnel, crowd control and ushers, and WIAA staff members.

Blog Archive